Preliminary Entry List for Daytona 24 Hours Revealed by IMSA

    Race fans, get ready for an exciting lineup at the upcoming Rolex 24 At Daytona! The IMSA SportsCar Championship is gearing up for an epic event, with 56 drivers already confirmed for the iconic endurance race. IMSA President John Doonan expressed his pride in releasing this preliminary list of participants earlier than ever before.

    The Grand Touring Prototype (GTP) field boasts 10 entries from various manufacturers, including Acura, BMW, Cadillac, and Porsche. Acura, the reigning overall winner for three consecutive years, will be aiming for another victory at Daytona. Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti is expanding its lineup to two cars and has assembled a formidable driver roster. The #10 entry features previous Rolex 24 winners Ricky Taylor and Filipe Albuquerque, along with Brendon Hartley, a Le Mans winner and WEC champion, and 2022 Indy 500 winner Marcus Ericsson. The new #40 entry is equally strong, with previous Rolex 24 winners Jordan Taylor and Colton Herta, rising sports car star Louis Deletraz, and 2009 F1 World Champion Jenson Button.

    Chip Ganassi Racing’s #01 Cadillac V-Series.R is equipped with a powerhouse trio of previous Rolex winners. Sebastien Bourdais and Renger van der Zande, both two-time Rolex winners, team up with four-time Daytona winner Scott Dixon, who also boasts six IndyCar Series championships and an Indy 500 win. Action Express Racing, the reigning class champions, will field the #31 Cadillac V-Series.R with Pipo Derani, a previous event winner, alongside two-time defending Rolex 24 winner Tom Blomqvist and Jack Aitken.

    Porsche Penske Motorsport will have two entries, highlighting their strong presence. The #6 car will be piloted by former Rolex 24 winners Nick Tandy and Mathieu Jaminet, alongside Le Mans winners Kevin Estre and Laurens Vanthoor. The #7 sister car will be led by former IMSA champions Matt Campbell and Felipe Nasr, along with Frederic Makowiecki and Josef Newgarden, the 2023 Indy 500 winner and a two-time IndyCar Series champion.

    JDC-Miller MotorSports brings back the Porsche 963, with a lineup featuring Tijmen van der Helm, Phil Hanson, Ben Keating, and previous Rolex 24 winner Richard Westbrook. Proton Competition’s #59 Porsche 963 will feature Gianmaria Bruni and Neel Jani.

    In the LMP2 class, Ben Keating joins United Autosports for the defense of his 2023 title. The team’s #2 ORECA LMP2 07 will also include Ben Hanley, Nico Pino, and a driver to be named. CrowdStrike Racing by APR’s #04 entry reunites George Kurtz with three-time Rolex 24 winner Colin Braun and two additional drivers. TDS Racing’s #11 ORECA will be driven by Steven Thomas, Mikkel Jensen, Hunter McElrea, and a driver to be named. The #18 Era Motorsport ORECA will see Dwight Merriman and Ryan Dalziel returning as the team aims to defend its 2021 victory. Gar Robinson and the Riley team move to LMP2 with the #74 ORECA, joined by Felipe Fraga, Josh Burdon, and a fourth driver.

    GTD Pro sees the return of Ford after a five-year absence, with a pair of Mustang GT3s. Corvette Racing by Pratt Miller Motorsports boasts a strong lineup, including three-time Rolex 24 winner Antonio Garcia and 2023 GTD PRO Rolex 24 winner Daniel Juncadella. Vasser Sullivan brings back the #14 Lexus RC F GT3, the defending class winner, and will feature Ben Barnicoat, Jack Hawksworth, Kyle Kirkwood, and another driver to be named. Paul Miller Racing steps up to GTD Pro with the #1 BMW M4 GT3, driven by Bryan Sellers, Madison Snow, Neil Verhagen, and Sheldon van der Linde. Pfaff Motorsports’ #9 McLaren 720S GT3 will be piloted by Oliver Jarvis, Alexander Rossi, James Hinchcliffe, and Marvin Kirchhoefer.

    The GT Daytona (GTD) class will witness the return of the #27 Heart of Racing Team Aston Martin Vantage GT3, with Roman De Angelis, Marco Sorensen, Ian James, and newcomer Zacharie Robichon. The #17 AWA Corvette Z06 GT3.R, fresh off a 2023 victory in LMP3, will aim for a repeat win with Anthony Mantella, Nico Varrone, Thomas Merrill, and Charlie Eastwood. Iron Lynx brings back a strong lineup, including past Rolex 24 winners Mirko Bortolotti, Andrea Caldarelli, Franck Perera, and Jordan Pepper. Risi Competizione’s #62 Ferrari 296 GT3 will see the talents of Alessandro Pier Guidi, Davide Rigon, and Daniel Serra. The #23 Heart of Racing Team Aston Martin Vantage GT3 adds Mario Farnbacher to its lineup alongside Ross Gunn and Alex Riberas.

    The GTD class is filled with exciting entries, including Magnus Racing’s #44 Aston Martin Vantage GT3 with John Potter, Spencer Pumpelly, Andy Lally, and a fourth driver to be announced. Kenton Koch returns in the #32 Korthoff/Preston Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT3, joined by Mike Skeen, Mikael Grenier, and Maxi Goetz. Winward Racing brings another Mercedes-AMG entry with Russell Ward, Daniel Morad, and two drivers yet to be announced. Misha Goikhberg pilots the #78 Forte Racing Lamborghini Huracán GT3 EVO2, with Loris Spinelli as his co-driver. Katherine Legge and Sheena Monk are set to return in the #66 Gradient Racing Acura NSX GT3, accompanied by two more drivers. The #83 Iron Dames Lamborghini Huracán GT3 EVO2 embraces an all-female driver lineup with Michelle Gatting, Sarah Bovy, Rahel Frey, and another driver to be named.

    With such a star-studded lineup, the 2024 Rolex 24 At Daytona promises thrilling action and fierce competition. Race fans are eagerly counting down the days to witness the battle unfold across these four exciting classes. Let the countdown continue as the anticipation builds for this prestigious endurance race.

    Latest articles

    Related articles